Enterprise Email

AKO Groups: Removing Myself from a Group

Download PDF

How do I remove myself from a group that I am in?

Depending on how you were added to a group, you may or may not have the ability to remove yourself from the group. You can unregister from a group, and contact the Groups Administrator by following the main steps below:

  • In the AKO Menu, CLICK the Groups icon (on top left menu)
  • There will be 4 tabs, CLICK Groups I am In tab
  • Under the Reason column, CLICK the blue and white person icon

Registered for a Group

If you have registered for a group within AKO/DKO, you will follow the above steps, and then:

  • CLICK Remove My Membership
  • A pop up will display, CLICK Yes

Added to the Group by an Administrator

If you were added to the group by an administrator, you will need to contact the administrator of the group to have yourself removed. To find an administrator of the group, you will follow the above steps, and then:

  • You will see the Group Name, Reason and the Administrators for that group
  • Click on an administrators name to get their contact information.

Added via Inherited Member Group

You will notice that there will be several groups and sub groups (member group), to remove yourself, follow the steps above:

  • You will see the Group Name, Reason and the Administrators for that group
  • Click on an administrators name to get their contact information.

I am the Group Administrator

If there are other Administrators in the Group, you can remove yourself. Otherwise, if you are the ONLY Administrator you can transfer the Administrator to someone else or delete the Group.

Added to the Group by a Rule

User can be also added to groups by rules. To learn more on rules-based groups.

You can only be removed from a rules-based group the attribute on your account that matches the rule for the group has changed. For example, when you are promoted or when you reclass to a different MOS.

Note: Many groups that you are added to are necessary view certain pages, folders, or other components within AKO/DKO. Having yourself removed could prohibit your ability to view such items.

To learn more on Groups and Content Management within AKO/DKO, please visit the AKO/DKO Training page: https://www.us.army.mil/suite/page/139150

Related posts:

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response